Minora Oh Minora

I saw you and I remembered how weak you used to make me.

How you used to call out to me, scream my name.

Crawl under my skin.

image

I saw you looking at me. I remembered the times you kept me together by tearing me apart.

I remembered how weak you used to make me.

I felt the weight of your past duty. To make me beautiful, to make me smart, to make me fit in, to make me stand out, to make me invisible and even to make me win.

You were important to my success and you were there to remind me over and over of my failures and my undeniable  flaws.

I hated you and the feeling was mutual. But I needed you to survive.

You fit all the gaps where my filter was broken.

I remembered how weak you used to make me.

Then I walked away again. I left you standing there with your deadly kind of love.

I left you calling out with your hollow promises.

You can’t piece me together by tearing me apart.

You would have been the death of me. But one more stroke. I saw my heart cry out through my open wrist.

Silence. He took my pieces from your hands and silence.

Silence sutured your gashes. Silence stole your voice and restored mine.

Silence gave me Him and annihilated you.

You no longer make me weak.

I remembered how weak you used to make me.

I see how strong I now am.

©iamakingsonson

Rae Sonson,
May 20, 2016,
22:31p.m.

 

Leave a Reply

