Am I Attending Pride This Sunday?

image

A friend of mine asked if I’d be attending the New York leg of the Pride parade this year. That makes me smile. I’ll explain why.

It’s always the last Sunday of June. It’s always been an awesome Sunday for me. I meet up with whoever is going out. We do every and anything, all day. I think last year I was high all day and intoxicated a few moments in the day.

The year before that I got asked out by this 18 year old kid. Her boldness was adorable. She was too cute. I was also high lol. I was with my sister that year and her friends too.

Oh and Dadre, I met up with Dadre and crushed on this beautiful army girl friend of hers. Went to a gay club that was so gay hahaha. Techno beats all day lol.

But I always enjoyed myself. It was always an amazing time and an especially amazing night. I think last year was one of the most amazing times. Jan, Leah, Friend1, Nic, Whoogapie and the late comers Will, Otis and Friend2 I disliked. We did sooo much, had some awesome photo opps. Met some amazing people. I saw a lot of naked body parts.

All in all, I saw a pic and I remembered the night I took it, went searching for it and found the pic you see at the top. Then I felt this good feeling. I enjoyed my friends. I enjoyed my friend. I had great fun. But to answer the question, no. No I will not be participating in the parade this year.

I no longer identify as pansexual most days and/or bisexual on others and full on lesbian in the in betweens. I’m simply straight. I know straight I could still participate because the pronounced voice of the movement speaks to openness, togetherness, support, acceptance and the liberation of the followers of the LGBT community and so on. However, I no longer identify with its voice of freedom. I have come to realize through cleansed eyes that I stood in bondage. Destined for a fiery end so long as I upheld an unrepentant heart.

So this year I stand in prayer for the people I will love just the same and support as human beings and souls already bought with the price of Christ’s blood. I will pray and I will believe in the impending salvation of generations of people that like my former self, have lost their true identity.

I send forth the salvation of the Lord into every street each feet will trod and I thank God for the harvest and for the transformed minds.

Saying that reminded me of the year a man, by himself, stood in the street alongside what seemed to be hundreds of us and preached the gospel, I also remember praying for him, that God would help him. He wasn’t met by much pleasantries.

God being a good and great loving God:

…proves His love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us. -Romans 5:8

And God:

isn’t really being slow about his promise, as some people think. No, he is being patient for your sake. He does not want anyone to be destroyed, but wants everyone to repent.-2 Peter 3:9

God gave His ONLY son for us ALL! HE THOUGHT WE WERE ALL TO DIE FOR!

THAT! That’s why I smiled. I recognized that change in me. My palette is cleansed.

Rae Sonson,
June 20, 2016,
2:08a.m.

Leave a Reply

